An all-star peloton will compete in the Women’s Tour de France


The flagship nation of women’s cycling, the Netherlands will be particularly well represented in the first edition of the Tour de France Women with Zwift, bringing together 24 teams of six riders at this early stage of team nominations. Of the 144 participants (early July), 29 are Dutch. This represents 20% of the field, a high level reflecting the strength of the Netherlands in the top 150 of the UCI world rankings.

The French public will be able to cheer on 23 of their local riders in the next highest single nation participation. French champion Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Trek-Segafredo) and Juliette Labous (Team DSM), winner of the Tour de Burgos and a mountain stage on the Giro, are among the best riders at the start. Italy (19) and Belgium (9) will then lead the representations, with 25 nationalities expected on the starting line.


With the first 28 riders in the UCI ranking entered from Paris, the Tour de France Women’s start list with Zwift is among the most starred of all time. Among them, Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) is a big favorite two weeks before her third victory at the Giro Donne.
She will again face the three challengers who followed her to Italy: Marta Cavalli (FDJ-Suez-Futuroscope), Mavi Garcia (UAE Team ADQ) and Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo).

Fans will also get to see the world’s fastest sprinter, Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM); the most titled rider in history, Marianne Vos (Jumbo-Visma); a rising star in Lotte Kopecky (SD Worx); and world champion Elisa Balsamo (Trek-Segafredo).


Australian Nicole Frain will join 13 other national champions wearing different colors from the rest of their team in the Women’s Tour de France with Zwift.
14 riders will start with the status of national champion: Nicole Frain (Australia, Parkhotel Valkenburg), Christina Schweinberger (Austria, Plantur-Pura) – whose twin sister Kathrin is engaged with Ceratizit-WNT -, Kim de Baat (Belgium, Plantur-Pura), Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Denmark, FDJ-Suez-Futuroscope), Mavi Garcia (Spain, UAE Team ADQ), Audrey Cordon-Ragot (France, Trek-Segafredo), Liane Lippert (Germany, DSM), Elisa Balsamo (Italy, Trek-Segafredo), Christine Majerus (Luxembourg, SD Worx), Riejanne Markus (Netherlands, Jumbo-Visma), Frances Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa, Cofidis), Eugenia Bujak (Slovenia, UAE Team ADQ) and Caroline Baur (Switzerland, Roland Cogeas Edelweiss team). But only thirteen will wear a distinctive jersey representing their country as Balsamo, who won the title in Italy, will wear the world champion’s rainbow stripes. Ellen van Dijk (Trek-Segafredo) will also win as European champion.


There is a wide variety of ages of runners on the starting line with the average age of participants at 26.4. Frenchwoman Sandra Lévénez (Cofidis), 43, is the oldest while the youngest rider in the Tour de France Women with Zwift should be Belgian Julie de Wilde (Plantur-Pura), who will turn 20 on December 8.
De Wilde is one of three teenagers preparing for the Grand Départ, Ines Cantera (Roland Cogeas Edelweiss Squad) will celebrate her 20th birthday on stage 7. Australian Rachel Neylan (Cofidis) is the only other forties in the race , the experienced all-rounder to bring plenty of know-how to winning races on the road.
The oldest team on average is SD Worx (30.7), ahead of UAE Team ADQ (30.33) and Canyon//Sram Racing (30.17). The youngest formation is AG Insurance – NXTG (21.17), a Dutch team which could count on the Australians Cassia Boglio and Anya Louw. Team DSM is the second youngest team (22.5), with the youngest of the 14 World Tour teams.


The stars will be everywhere, inside the peloton and supporting it, as many former champions are now part of the management of the teams participating in the race. Among the most notable names, Anna van der Breggen has been part of SD Worx management since retiring at the end of last season, after an extraordinarily successful career (3 world champion titles, Olympic champion , 7 times winner of La Flèche Wallonne Women…).
Jolien D’Hoore, her teammate last year with SD Worx, Belgian road champion and world track champion, is another young retiree who now holds the position of sports director at AG Insurance-NTXG, while Trek -Segafredo will once again benefit from the experience and leadership of Ina Teutenberg.
Other names such as Joanne Kiesanowski (Human Powered Health), Lieselot Decroix, Carmen Small (Jumbo-Visma), Heidi Van de Vijver (Plantur-Pura) or Charlotte Bravard (St-Michel Auber 93) stand out for their experience and their achievements on the bike.

The pioneers of the first Tour de France Women with Zwift can also count on the expertise of former Tour de France contenders such as Lars Ytting Bak (Uno-X), Albert Timmer (Team DSM) and Rubens Bertogliati (UAE Team ADQ) , who even wore the yellow jersey in the men’s race.

About Robert James

Check Also

‘Do Better’: Newsom Halts $1 Billion in Homeless Spending – GV Wire

California’s plans to reduce the nation’s largest homeless population aren’t good enough, Democratic Gov. Gavin …